ECB Declared Squad for World Cup

Today is the final day to announce World Cup team final squad. England Cricket Board made a single & dramatic change in the wicket keeper position. They choose Matt Prior ahead of Steve Davies. Davies was recently playing against Australia in ODI series. But his scratchy innings against Australia in the first ODI make him unselect for World Cup squad. 

In the bowling lineup, several fast bowlers are selected -  Tim Bresnan,Ajmal Shahzad, Luke Wright and Stuart Broad. Stuart Broad is recovering from the stomach injury. ECB hops he will be full fit during World Cup.

Graeme Swann and Michael Yardy are the main spinners. Offspinner James Tredwell will be backup spinner. 

Prior  played his last ODI match against Bangladesh in Chittagong, in March. Prior played 55 one-day internationals with an average 25.38. But his performane in India is very poor. He made 158 runs in 11 matches at an average of 17.55. Recently, he made good performance in the ashes series. It helped him to get chance in the squad.  He made 85 runs in Melbourne and 118 runs in Sydney. 

Paul Collingwood also get chance in the squad. Recently he was not selected in the 1st ODI match against Australia. But his experience give him a new chance.

"Paul Collingwood may not have scored as many runs as he would have liked so far on the tour of Australia but he has been a consistently strong performer for England in limited-overs cricket for a long period of time," Miller said. "His experience, ODI knowledge and skills across all three facets of the game make him a valuable member of the squad and he'll be looking to make a big impact at another global event."

 World Cup Squad:

Andrew Strauss (capt), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...