Jayasuriya Omitted from 15 Player World Cup Squad

Head of the National selection committee Aravinda de Silva declared Sri Lanka's World Cup squad of 15 players. 

World Cup winning members Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas were left out from the team. Both players have retired from Test cricket but have been playing one-day and Twenty20 cricket. Vaas last played ODI in August, 2008, while Jayasuriya last played an ODI for Sri Lanka in December, 2009. Only 1996 World Cup winning member Muttiah Muralitharan will participate in 2011 World Cup. 

The squad consists of 11 members who represented Sri Lanka in the recent three-match ODI series in Australia. The one surprise was that left-arm spinner Rangana Herath was picked ahead of offspinner Suraj Randiv.

Kumar Sangakkara will be the captain of the World Cup 2011 & Mahela Jayawardene will join as his deputy.

World Cup squad: 

Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera,  Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Upul Tharanga, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...